summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/doc
AgeCommit message (Collapse)Author
2019-05-13doc: update release notes for 19.05HEADwindpdk-next-devmasterJohn McNamara
Fix grammar, spelling and formatting of DPDK 19.05 release notes. Signed-off-by: John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com>
2019-05-13doc: update Mellanox guides and release notesOri Kam
This patch adds some missing features to Mellanox drivers release notes. It also updates the mlx5/mlx4 documentations. Fixes: d85b204b5dba ("doc: update release notes for Mellanox drivers") Signed-off-by: Ori Kam <orika@mellanox.com> Acked-by: Shahaf Shuler <shahafs@mellanox.com>
2019-05-13doc: fix JSON interface for power sampleLukasz Krakowiak
Updated doc for JSON sample code related to vm_power_manager fifo interface: "command": "destroy", "command": "power". There is no code change to go with this doc update, it is to fix the docs to match the implementation in the code. Fixes: a63504a90f ("examples/power: add JSON string handling") Cc: stable@dpdk.org Signed-off-by: Lukasz Krakowiak <lukaszx.krakowiak@intel.com> Acked-by: David Hunt <david.hunt@intel.com>
2019-05-10doc: update recommended kernel version for i40eLijuan Tu
add recommended DPDK/kernel driver/firmware version matching list for i40e for 19.05 Signed-off-by: Lijuan Tu <lijuan.tu@intel.com> Acked-by: John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com>
2019-05-10doc: add tested Intel platforms with Intel NICsLijuan Tu
Add tested Intel platforms with Intel NICs to v19.05 release note. Signed-off-by: Lijuan Tu <lijuan.tu@intel.com> Acked-by: John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com>
2019-05-10doc: add tested platforms with Mellanox NICsRaslan Darawsheh
Signed-off-by: Raslan Darawsheh <rasland@mellanox.com>
2019-05-10doc: add Mellanox BlueField platform guideYongseok Koh
Platform specific guide for Mellanox BlueField SoC is added. Signed-off-by: Yongseok Koh <yskoh@mellanox.com> Acked-by: John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com>
2019-05-10doc: update release notes for Mellanox driversYongseok Koh
mlx4/mlx5 release note for v19.05 Signed-off-by: Yongseok Koh <yskoh@mellanox.com>
2019-05-10doc: update release notes for QAT PMDsFiona Trahe
Added release note entry for QAT compression PMD Clarified that previous entry was for QAT sym crypto PMD Signed-off-by: Fiona Trahe <fiona.trahe@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Tomasz Jozwiak <tomaszx.jozwiak@intel.com> Acked-by: John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com>
2019-05-10doc: remove redundant information from debug guideVipin Varghese
Remove redundant information from section Performance issue isolation. Re-word for section header for packet capture. Fixes: 08db7bde1617 ("doc: add guide for debug and troubleshoot") Signed-off-by: Vipin Varghese <vipin.varghese@intel.com> Acked-by: John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com>
2019-05-10doc: fix formatting in testpmd guideKevin Traynor
Minor formatting error related to code block noticed when reading the doc. Fix it and some other errors. Fixes: c7217b9dd8ef ("app/testpmd: change log level at run time") Fixes: 3c272b280a50 ("app/testpmd: add commands for RSS queue region") Fixes: e38ea44f1714 ("app/testpmd: add configuration for input set") Fixes: 08e0b3440baf ("app/testpmd: add option to configure UDP tunnel port") Fixes: e977e4199a8d ("app/testpmd: add commands to load/unload BPF filters") Cc: stable@dpdk.org Signed-off-by: Kevin Traynor <ktraynor@redhat.com> Acked-by: Bernard Iremonger <bernard.iremonger@intel.com>
2019-05-10doc: add timer library changes to release notesErik Gabriel Carrillo
Signed-off-by: Erik Gabriel Carrillo <erik.g.carrillo@intel.com> Acked-by: John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com>
2019-05-09ipc: add warnings about correct API usageAnatoly Burakov
When handling synchronous or asynchronous requests, the reply must be sent explicitly even if the result of the operation is an error, to avoid the other side timing out. Make note of this in documentation explicitly. Cc: stable@dpdk.org Signed-off-by: Anatoly Burakov <anatoly.burakov@intel.com>
2019-05-09ipc: add warnings about not using IPC with memory APIAnatoly Burakov
IPC and memory-related API's should not be mixed because memory relies on IPC internally. Add explicit warnings to IPC API and to the documentation about this. Cc: stable@dpdk.org Signed-off-by: Anatoly Burakov <anatoly.burakov@intel.com>
2019-05-09doc: fix typo in IPC guideAnatoly Burakov
The word "synchronous" appears twice. Fix it. Fixes: e22266669e86 ("doc: add IPC guide") Cc: stable@dpdk.org Signed-off-by: Anatoly Burakov <anatoly.burakov@intel.com> Acked-by: John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com>
2019-05-08doc: fix typo in mlx5 guideYongseok Koh
Fixes: 43e9d9794cde ("net/mlx5: support upstream rdma-core") Cc: stable@dpdk.org Signed-off-by: Yongseok Koh <yskoh@mellanox.com> Reviewed-by: Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com>
2019-05-05doc: update release notes for Windows supportPallavi Kadam
Added documentation for Windows support on 19.05 release. Signed-off-by: Pallavi Kadam <pallavi.kadam@intel.com> Reviewed-by: Anand Rawat <anand.rawat@intel.com> Reviewed-by: Ranjit Menon <ranjit.menon@intel.com> Acked-by: John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com>
2019-05-05doc: update release notes for new armv8 targetsJerin Jacob
Added documentation for the new armv8 targets supported in 19.05 release. Signed-off-by: Jerin Jacob <jerinj@marvell.com> Acked-by: John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com>
2019-05-05doc: add guide for debug and troubleshootVipin Varghese
Add user guide on debugging and troubleshooting for common issues and bottleneck found in the sample application model. Signed-off-by: Vipin Varghese <vipin.varghese@intel.com> Acked-by: Marko Kovacevic <marko.kovacevic@intel.com> Acked-by: John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com>
2019-05-05doc: add pictures for debug and troubleshoot guideVipin Varghese
Add svg images for debug and troubleshoot guide. Signed-off-by: Vipin Varghese <vipin.varghese@intel.com> Acked-by: Marko Kovacevic <marko.kovacevic@intel.com> Acked-by: John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com>
2019-05-04doc: fix broken link in LPM guideHerakliusz Lipiec
Bugzilla ID: 235 Fixes: fc1f2750a3ec ("doc: programmers guide") Cc: stable@dpdk.org Signed-off-by: Herakliusz Lipiec <herakliusz.lipiec@intel.com> Acked-by: Rami Rosen <ramirose@gmail.com> Acked-by: Vladimir Medvedkin <vladimir.medvedkin@intel.com> Acked-by: John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com>
2019-05-04hash: fix doc about thread/process safetyYipeng Wang
rte_hash_hash is multi-thread safe but not multi-process safe because of the use of function pointers. Previous document and comment says the other way around. This commit fixes the issue. Fixes: fc1f2750a3ec ("doc: programmers guide") Fixes: 48a399119619 ("hash: replace with cuckoo hash implementation") Cc: stable@dpdk.org Reported-by: Andrey Nikolaev <gentoorion@gmail.com> Suggested-by: Pablo de Lara <pablo.de.lara.guarch@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Yipeng Wang <yipeng1.wang@intel.com> Acked-by: Dharmik Thakkar <dharmik.thakkar@arm.com> Acked-by: John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com>
2019-05-03doc: fix interactive commands in testpmd guideAgalya Babu RadhaKrishnan
Added some missing documentation for interactive mode commands Fixes: 01b2092a5e4b ("testpmd: add dump commands for debug") Fixes: caf05a1b8608 ("app/testpmd: new command to dump log types") Fixes: 0f62d63593ed ("app/testpmd: support tunneled TSO in checksum engine") Fixes: 8fff667578a7 ("app/testpmd: new command to add/remove multicast MAC addresses") Fixes: ae03d0d18adf ("app/testpmd: command to configure MTU") Fixes: f79959ea1504 ("app/testpmd: allow to configure RSS hash key") Fixes: caf05a1b8608 ("app/testpmd: new command to dump log types") Cc: stable@dpdk.org Signed-off-by: Agalya Babu RadhaKrishnan <agalyax.babu.radhakrishnan@intel.com> Reviewed-by: Rami Rosen <ramirose@gmail.com> Acked-by: Bernard Iremonger <bernard.iremonger@intel.com>
2019-05-03doc: update ice guide for MDDWenzhuo Lu
Update ICE document to describe a MDD event. Signed-off-by: Wenzhuo Lu <wenzhuo.lu@intel.com> Acked-by: Rami Rosen <ramirose@gmail.com>
2019-05-03doc: add SST-BF infoDavid Hunt
In the Power Library, a new bit has been added to the mask returned by rte_power_get_capabilities which indicates whether the core is an Intel SST-BF high frequency core. The distributor sample application has been enhanced to be aware of Intel SST-BF high frequency cores. Docs also contain a link to the Intel SST-BF application note. Signed-off-by: David Hunt <david.hunt@intel.com> Acked-by: John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com>
2019-05-03examples/l3fwd: support separate buffer pool per portShreyansh Jain
Traditionally, only a single buffer pool per port (or, per-port-per-socket) is created in l3fwd application. If separate pools are created per-port, it might lead to gain in performance as packet alloc/dealloc requests would be isolated across ports (and their corresponding lcores). This patch adds an argument '--per-port-pool' to the l3fwd application. By default, old mode of single pool per port (split on sockets) is active. L3fwd user guide is also updated by this patch. Signed-off-by: Shreyansh Jain <shreyansh.jain@nxp.com> Acked-by: Ruifeng Wang <ruifeng.wang@arm.com>
2019-05-03doc: fix spelling reported by aspell in guidesJohn McNamara
Fix spelling errors in the guide docs. Signed-off-by: John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com> Acked-by: Rami Rosen <ramirose@gmail.com>
2019-05-02doc: update dpaaX platform guidesHemant Agrawal
Update the dpaa platform guides with latest SDK dependency. Signed-off-by: Hemant Agrawal <hemant.agrawal@nxp.com> Acked-by: John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com>
2019-05-02build: fix crash by disabling AVX512 with binutils 2.31Ferruh Yigit
On Skylake platform, with native build, KNI kernel module crashes because of the corrupted values passed to kernel module. The corruption occurs because the userspace kni library works unexpectedly. Compiler [1] is using AVX512 instructions and generated binary is wrong [2]. It turned around gcc does its job correct, but gas is generating binary wrong. And expected binutils 2.30, 2.31 & 2.31.1 are affected. Issue has been fixed in binutils 2.32 with: Commit x86: don't mistakenly scale non-8-bit displacements AVX512 was already disabled with bintuils 2.30 [3], extending it to 2.31 & 2.31.1 too. [1] gcc (GCC) 8.3.1 20190223 (Red Hat 8.3.1-2) [2] gcc bug: https://gcc.gnu.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=90028 [3] Bugzilla ID 97 has the details. Bugzilla ID: 249 Cc: stable@dpdk.org Signed-off-by: Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com> Acked-by: Bruce Richardson <bruce.richardson@intel.com>
2019-05-02doc: add RCU guideHonnappa Nagarahalli
Add lib RCU QSBR programmer guide documentation. Signed-off-by: Honnappa Nagarahalli <honnappa.nagarahalli@arm.com> Reviewed-by: Marko Kovacevic <marko.kovacevic@intel.com> Acked-by: John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com>
2019-05-02rcu: add RCU library supporting QSBR mechanismHonnappa Nagarahalli
Add RCU library supporting quiescent state based memory reclamation method. This library helps identify the quiescent state of the reader threads so that the writers can free the memory associated with the lock less data structures. Signed-off-by: Honnappa Nagarahalli <honnappa.nagarahalli@arm.com> Reviewed-by: Steve Capper <steve.capper@arm.com> Reviewed-by: Gavin Hu <gavin.hu@arm.com> Reviewed-by: Ola Liljedahl <ola.liljedahl@arm.com> Acked-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.ibm.com> Acked-by: Konstantin Ananyev <konstantin.ananyev@intel.com> Tested-by: Jerin Jacob <jerinj@marvell.com> Tested-by: Ruifeng Wang <ruifeng.wang@arm.com> Tested-by: Hemant Agrawal <hemant.agrawal@nxp.com>
2019-05-01doc: update guide and release notes for QAT cryptoArek Kusztal
This patch adds release notes to 19.05 release document, and more detailed description to Intel QuickAssist Technology driver documentation files for asymmmetric crypto PMD. Signed-off-by: Arek Kusztal <arkadiuszx.kusztal@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Fiona Trahe <fiona.trahe@intel.com> Acked-by: Arek Kusztal <arkadiuszx.kusztal@intel.com>
2019-04-23doc: fix heading levels in bbdev test guideThomas Monjalon
The section "Test Vector files" should not be at the same level as the main title "dpdk-test-bbdev Application". Fixes: f714a18885a6 ("app/testbbdev: add test application for bbdev") Cc: stable@dpdk.org Signed-off-by: Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net> Acked-by: John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com>
2019-04-22power: fix thread-safety environment modificationMarcin Hajkowski
Due to lack of thread safety in exisiting solution use spinlock mechanism for atomic modification of power environment related data. Fixes: 445c6528b5 ("power: common interface for guest and host") Cc: stable@dpdk.org Signed-off-by: Marcin Hajkowski <marcinx.hajkowski@intel.com> Acked-by: Anatoly Burakov <anatoly.burakov@intel.com>
2019-04-22app/pdump: support multi-core captureVipin Varghese
Add option --multi, to enhance pdump application to allow capture on unique cores for each --pdump option. If option --multi is ignored the default capture occurs on single core for all --pdump options. Signed-off-by: Vipin Varghese <vipin.varghese@intel.com> Acked-by: Reshma Pattan <reshma.pattan@intel.com>
2019-04-22app/testpmd: add ability to set Tx IP and UDP parametersStephen Hemminger
This patch changes what testpmd uses as IP addresses when run in transmit only mode. The old code was using 192.168.0.1 -> 192.168.0.2 but these addresses are reserved for private Internet by RFC 1918. The new code uses 192.18.0.1 and 192.18.0.2 which are on the subnet reserved for performance testing by RFC 2544. New command line option allows the user to pick any other src/dst address desired. Notice: this changes the default IP address for transmit only. It may cause some user who has hardcoded network addresses to report a regression. Signed-off-by: Stephen Hemminger <stephen@networkplumber.org> Acked-by: Bernard Iremonger <bernard.iremonger@intel.com>
2019-04-19net/atlantic: enable MACsec configurationPavel Belous
These are driver MACsec configuration routines. They fill in config structures and prepare these to be send to FW. Actual configuration will happen in link interrupt handler. We declare MACsec offload bits in DPDK offload capabilities and provide external experimental MACsec API wrappers. Also update documentation with feature matrix for the enabled feature. Signed-off-by: Pavel Belous <pavel.belous@aquantia.com> Signed-off-by: Igor Russkikh <igor.russkikh@aquantia.com>
2019-04-19net/ipn3ke: add new driverRosen Xu
Add Intel FPGA Acceleration NIC IPN3KE ethdev PMD driver. Signed-off-by: Rosen Xu <rosen.xu@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Andy Pei <andy.pei@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Dan Wei <dan.wei@intel.com>
2019-04-19net/enetc: enable Rx checksum offload validationGagandeep Singh
Checksum Validation on Rx is supported. Signed-off-by: Gagandeep Singh <g.singh@nxp.com>
2019-04-19net/enetc: enable CRC offloadGagandeep Singh
CRC offload keep feature supported Signed-off-by: Gagandeep Singh <g.singh@nxp.com>
2019-04-19net/enetc: enable queue start/stopGagandeep Singh
Rx and Tx queue start-stop and deferred queue start features enabled. Signed-off-by: Gagandeep Singh <g.singh@nxp.com>
2019-04-19net/enetc: support MTU update and jumbo framesGagandeep Singh
Enable the jumbo frames and MTU update feature. Signed-off-by: Gagandeep Singh <g.singh@nxp.com>
2019-04-19net/enetc: enable promiscuous and allmulticastGagandeep Singh
Promiscuous and allmulticast enable/disable APIs added. Signed-off-by: Gagandeep Singh <g.singh@nxp.com>
2019-04-19net/enetc: add basic statisticsGagandeep Singh
Enable basic statistics APIs enetc_stats_get and enetc_stats_reset. Signed-off-by: Gagandeep Singh <g.singh@nxp.com>
2019-04-19net/enetc: set interface mode for SXGMIIGagandeep Singh
Support for SXGMII port has been enabled. It will depends on boot loader information passed through IERB. Signed-off-by: Gagandeep Singh <g.singh@nxp.com>
2019-04-19net/enetc: support physical addressing modeGagandeep Singh
Support added for physical addressing mode and change driver flags to don't care. Signed-off-by: Gagandeep Singh <g.singh@nxp.com>
2019-04-18doc: fix missing asymmetric crypto tableFiona Trahe
Fixes: 11e5ba72cf67 ("doc: add crypto asymmetric feature list") Cc: stable@dpdk.org Signed-off-by: Fiona Trahe <fiona.trahe@intel.com> Acked-by: Akhil Goyal <akhil.goyal@nxp.com>
2019-04-18crypto/aesni_gcm: use architecture independent APIPablo de Lara
IPSec Multi-buffer library has recently added API that sets pointers depending on the architecture, at initiliazation, in version 0.52. AESNI MB PMD was updated with these changes, but not the AESNI GCM PMD, which also uses the same library. This makes the PMD to be only compatible with version 0.52, but makes both PMD consistent on version compatibility, plus adds support for AVX512. Signed-off-by: Pablo de Lara <pablo.de.lara.guarch@intel.com>
2019-04-18doc: add missing algorithms for AESNI-MB PMDPablo de Lara
The supported algorithm tables for AESNI MB PMD were missing some supported algorithms. Fixes: 0e9f8507afcb ("crypto/aesni_mb: support AES-GCM algorithm") Fixes: e5eecd3dc838 ("crypto/aesni_mb: support AES-GMAC") Fixes: 11fdbf1b7866 ("crypto/aesni_mb: support plain SHA") Cc: stable@dpdk.org Signed-off-by: Pablo de Lara <pablo.de.lara.guarch@intel.com> Acked-by: Fiona Trahe <fiona.trahe@intel.com>
2019-04-18doc: mention machine=default option for mesonLuca Boccassi
Document the new value, as it's useful for distributions and users who need to use a stable baseline -march Signed-off-by: Luca Boccassi <bluca@debian.org> Reviewed-by: Christian Ehrhardt <christian.ehrhardt@canonical.com> Reviewed-by: Jerin Jacob <jerinj@marvell.com>