summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
AgeCommit message (Collapse)Author
2019-05-13Updated Source and Project files to use Clang toolsetv18.08-clangwindpdk-v18.08-clangAnand Rawat
Updated the code for using LLVM toolset. The code still uses msbuild and VS2017. Some header files and windows specific utility functions are removed due to conflicts with Clang intrinsic functions. Project files have been updated to use LLVM and additional project settings for Clang. Change-Id: I274de21379287c664e072f58e94271c654afe603 Signed-off-by: Anand Rawat <anand.rawat@intel.com>
2019-04-09readme: Updating contact for Windows DPDKv18.08-ICCwindpdk-v18.08Harini Ramakrishnan
2019-04-08uio: move SDDL string to INF on WindowsHarini Ramakrishnan
2019-01-14doc: remove embedded buffer from Windows UIO ioctlHarini Ramakrishnan
2019-01-14doc: remove lower bound on mapped address from Windows UIO driverHarini Ramakrishnan
2019-01-14doc: change the Windows UIO driver's default security descriptor to admin onlyHarini Ramakrishnan
2018-11-26Windows DPDK libraries and applications have now been updated to the latest ↵Harini Ramakrishnan
public release v18.08, of the main DPDK source.
2018-11-26Updated Cavium NIC with Windows PMD supportwindpdk-v18.02Jason Messer
2018-11-26Updated Broadcom NIC with PMD support on WindowsJason Messer
2018-11-26Updated README with Windows infoJason Messer
2018-11-26Updated guides for building DPDK on WindowsJason Messer
2018-03-19Added new core libraries for WindowsJason Messer
2018-03-19rebase on v18.02; resolved merge conflicts with Windows versionJason Messer
2018-02-21Initial commit of UIO driver for WindowsJason Messer
2018-02-21Initial commit of DPDK for Windows patchesJason Messer
- Includes patches for DPDK core libraries - Includes Intel PMD on Windows for i40e driver - Includes Visual Studio Projects and Solutions with build environment (currently requires ICC)
2018-02-14version: 18.02.0Thomas Monjalon
Signed-off-by: Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>
2018-02-14doc: update release notes for 18.02John McNamara
Fix grammar, spelling and formatting of DPDK 18.02 release notes. Signed-off-by: John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com>
2018-02-14doc: add virtio guest announce support to release notesXiao Wang
Signed-off-by: Xiao Wang <xiao.w.wang@intel.com> Acked-by: John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com>
2018-02-14doc: add tested platforms with Mellanox NICsRaslan Darawsheh
Signed-off-by: Raslan Darawsheh <rasland@mellanox.com>
2018-02-14doc: fix outdated link to IPsec white paperPablo de Lara
Fixes: 924e84f87306 ("aesni_mb: add driver for multi buffer based crypto") Cc: stable@dpdk.org Signed-off-by: Pablo de Lara <pablo.de.lara.guarch@intel.com>
2018-02-14doc: remove reference to old distro in Linux guideHarry van Haaren
Remove reference to Fedora 18 which is EOL-ed, reword surrounding sentences to read correctly. Signed-off-by: Harry van Haaren <harry.van.haaren@intel.com> Acked-by: John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com>
2018-02-14doc: announce ethdev API fix for port id sizeFerruh Yigit
Fix rte_eth_dev_get_sec_ctx() parameter port_id storage size, from uint8_t to uint16_t. Signed-off-by: Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com> Acked-by: Radu Nicolau <radu.nicolau@intel.com> Acked-by: Hemant Agrawal <hemant.agrawal@nxp.com> Acked-by: Jerin Jacob <jerin.jacob@caviumnetworks.com>
2018-02-14doc: announce ethdev ABI change for filter structsKirill Rybalchenko
Signed-off-by: Kirill Rybalchenko <kirill.rybalchenko@intel.com> Acked-by: Marko Kovacevic <marko.kovacevic@intel.com> Acked-by: Neil Horman <nhorman@tuxdriver.com> Acked-by: Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com> Acked-by: Olivier Matz <olivier.matz@6wind.com> Acked-by: Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>
2018-02-14doc: announce ethdev API changes for callbacksFerruh Yigit
Ethdev APIs to add callback return the callback object as "void *", update return type to actual object type "struct rte_eth_rxtx_callback *" Signed-off-by: Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com> Acked-by: Konstantin Ananyev <konstantin.ananyev@intel.com> Acked-by: Jerin Jacob <jerin.jacob@caviumnetworks.com> Acked-by: Hemant Agrawal <hemant.agrawal@nxp.com>
2018-02-14doc: announce ethdev API change for default MACOlivier Matz
Announce internal PMD API change in the function to set the default MAC address. The objective is to be able to notify errors occurring in the PMD. Link: https://dpdk.org/dev/patchwork/patch/32284/ Signed-off-by: Olivier Matz <olivier.matz@6wind.com> Acked-by: Andrew Rybchenko <arybchenko@solarflare.com> Acked-by: Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com> Acked-by: Shahaf Shuler <shahafs@mellanox.com> Acked-by: Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>
2018-02-14doc: announce ethdev API change for VF representorsShahaf Shuler
This is following the RFC being discussed and targets 18.05 http://dpdk.org/ml/archives/dev/2018-January/085716.html Signed-off-by: Shahaf Shuler <shahafs@mellanox.com> Acked-by: Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net> Acked-by: Declan Doherty <declan.doherty@intel.com> Acked-by: Remy Horton <remy.horton@intel.com> Acked-by: Luca Boccassi <luca.boccassi@intl.att.com> Acked-by: Alex Zelezniak <alexz@att.com> Acked-by: Jerin Jacob <jerin.jacob@caviumnetworks.com>
2018-02-14doc: announce ethdev API change for preferred burst sizeShreyansh Jain
rte_eth_rx_burst(..,nb_pkts) function has semantic that if return value is smaller than requested, application can consider it end of packet stream. Some hardware can only support smaller burst sizes which need to be advertised. Similar is the case for Tx burst. This patch adds deprecation notice for rte_eth_dev_info structure as new members, for preferred Rx and Tx burst and ring size would be added - impacting the size of the structure. Signed-off-by: Shreyansh Jain <shreyansh.jain@nxp.com> Acked-by: Hemant Agrawal <hemant.agrawal@nxp.com> Acked-by: Andrew Rybchenko <arybchenko@solarflare.com> Acked-by: Bruce Richardson <bruce.richardson@intel.com> Acked-by: Zhiyong Yang <zhiyong.yang@intel.com> Acked-by: Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>
2018-02-14doc: announce ethdev API change for RSS configurationXueming Li
Update deprecation notice for the new rss_level field of rte_eth_rss_conf. Link: http://www.dpdk.org/dev/patchwork/patch/31891 Signed-off-by: Xueming Li <xuemingl@mellanox.com> Acked-by: Shahaf Shuler <shahafs@mellanox.com> Acked-by: Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com> Acked-by: Jerin Jacob <jerin.jacob@caviumnetworks.com>
2018-02-14doc: announce mbuf sched field changeCristian Dumitrescu
Signed-off-by: Cristian Dumitrescu <cristian.dumitrescu@intel.com> Acked-by: Jasvinder Singh <jasvinder.singh@intel.com> Acked-by: Fan Zhang <roy.fan.zhang@intel.com> Acked-by: Kevin Laatz <kevin.laatz@intel.com> Acked-by: Jerin Jacob <jerin.jacob@caviumnetworks.com> Acked-by: Hemant Agrawal <hemant.agrawal@nxp.com> Acked-by: Olivier Matz <olivier.matz@6wind.com>
2018-02-14doc: announce control mbuf removalOlivier Matz
Link: http://dpdk.org/ml/archives/dev/2017-July/069813.html Link: http://dpdk.org/dev/patchwork/patch/32041/ Signed-off-by: Olivier Matz <olivier.matz@6wind.com> Acked-by: Jerin Jacob <jerin.jacob@caviumnetworks.com> Acked-by: Cristian Dumitrescu <cristian.dumitrescu@intel.com> Acked-by: Bruce Richardson <bruce.richardson@intel.com> Acked-by: Hemant Agrawal <hemant.agrawal@nxp.com> Acked-by: Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>
2018-02-14doc: announce mempool API changesAndrew Rybchenko
An API/ABI changes are planned for 18.05 [1]: * Allow to customize how mempool objects are stored in memory. * Deprecate mempool XMEM API. * Add mempool driver ops to get information from mempool driver and dequeue contiguous blocks of objects if driver supports it. [1] http://dpdk.org/ml/archives/dev/2018-January/088698.html Signed-off-by: Andrew Rybchenko <arybchenko@solarflare.com> Acked-by: Olivier Matz <olivier.matz@6wind.com> Acked-by: Jerin Jacob <jerin.jacob@caviumnetworks.com> Acked-by: Hemant Agrawal <hemant.agrawal@nxp.com>
2018-02-14doc: announce EAL function removal for default mempoolHemant Agrawal
Signed-off-by: Hemant Agrawal <hemant.agrawal@nxp.com> Acked-by: Olivier Matz <olivier.matz@6wind.com> Acked-by: Jerin Jacob <jerin.jacob@caviumnetworks.com> Acked-by: Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com>
2018-02-14doc: announce memory hotplug changesAnatoly Burakov
Due to coming changes outlined in memory hotplug RFC, there will be several API/ABI changes. Signed-off-by: Anatoly Burakov <anatoly.burakov@intel.com> Acked-by: John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com> Acked-by: Bruce Richardson <bruce.richardson@intel.com> Acked-by: Jerin Jacob <jerin.jacob@caviumnetworks.com> Acked-by: Jonas Pfefferle <pepperjo@japf.ch> Acked-by: Yongseok Koh <yskoh@mellanox.com>
2018-02-14doc: announce EAL ABI change for NUMA node countAnatoly Burakov
There will be a new function added in v18.05 that will return number of detected sockets, which will change the ABI. Signed-off-by: Anatoly Burakov <anatoly.burakov@intel.com> Acked-by: John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com> Acked-by: Jerin Jacob <jerin.jacob@caviumnetworks.com> Acked-by: Bruce Richardson <bruce.richardson@intel.com> Acked-by: Jonas Pfefferle <pepperjo@japf.ch> Acked-by: Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>
2018-02-14doc: announce EAL API change to lcore role functionErik Gabriel Carrillo
This an API/ABI change notice for DPDK 18.05 announcing a change in the meaning of the return values of the rte_lcore_has_role() function. Signed-off-by: Erik Gabriel Carrillo <erik.g.carrillo@intel.com> Acked-by: Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com> Acked-by: Harry van Haaren <harry.van.haaren@intel.com> Acked-by: Pavan Nikhilesh <pbhagavatula@caviumnetworks.com> Acked-by: Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>
2018-02-14doc: update deprecation notice for devargsGaetan Rivet
The declaration and identification of devices will change in v18.05. Remove the precedent deprecation notice. Add new one reflecting the planned changes more accurately, updated for v18.05. Signed-off-by: Gaetan Rivet <gaetan.rivet@6wind.com> Acked-by: Shreyansh Jain <shreyansh.jain@nxp.com> Acked-by: Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com> Acked-by: Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>
2018-02-14net/failsafe: fix Rx interrupt reinstallationMatan Azrad
Fail-safe dev_start() operation can be called by both the application and the hot-plug alarm mechanism. The installation of Rx interrupt are triggered from dev_start() in any time it is called while actually the Rx interrupt should be installed only by the application calls. So, each plug-in event causes reinstallation which causes memory leak and spoils the fail-safe Rx interrupt mechanism. Trigger the Rx interrupt installation only when it does not exist. Fixes: 9e0360aebf23 ("net/failsafe: register as Rx interrupt mode") Signed-off-by: Matan Azrad <matan@mellanox.com> Acked-by: Gaetan Rivet <gaetan.rivet@6wind.com>
2018-02-14net/tap: fix promiscuous rules double insertionsOphir Munk
Running testpmd command "port stop all" followed by command "port start all" may result in a TAP error: PMD: Kernel refused TC filter rule creation (17): File exists Root cause analysis: during the execution of "port start all" command testpmd calls rte_eth_promiscuous_enable() while during the execution of "port stop all" command testpmd does not call rte_eth_promiscuous_disable(). As a result the TAP PMD is trying to add tc (traffic control command) promiscuous rules to the remote netvsc device consecutively. From the kernel point of view it is seen as an attempt to add the same rule more than once. In recent kernels (e.g. version 4.13) this attempt is rejected with a "File exists" error. In less recent kernels (e.g. version 4.4) the same rule may have been successfully accepted twice, which is undesirable. In the corrupted code every tc promiscuous rule included a different handle number parameter. If instead an identical handle number is used for all tc promiscuous rules - all kernels will reject the second identical rule with a "File exists" error, which is easy to identify and to silently ignore. Fixes: 2bc06869cd94 ("net/tap: add remote netdevice traffic capture") Cc: stable@dpdk.org Signed-off-by: Ophir Munk <ophirmu@mellanox.com> Acked-by: Pascal Mazon <pascal.mazon@6wind.com>
2018-02-14maintainers: update for stable branchesLuca Boccassi
I am maintaining 16.11 until November 2018 Signed-off-by: Luca Boccassi <bluca@debian.org>
2018-02-14doc: add maintainers section to the contributors guideCiara Power
Add a maintainers section to the contributors guide to have a low tech location to check/link to the current maintainers. This file is included dynamically from the MAINTAINERS file in the root directory of the DPDK source when the docs are built. This also allows us to link to the file from other sections of the docs. Signed-off-by: Ciara Power <ciara.power@intel.com> Acked-by: John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com>
2018-02-14doc: improve HTML spacing in release notesThomas Monjalon
Vertical spacing is lower before an item title than after. So the items with paragraphs are not well separated. A custom CSS is added to override the rtd theme. Signed-off-by: Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net> Acked-by: John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com>
2018-02-14doc: add vhost live migration features to release notesJiayu Hu
Signed-off-by: Jiayu Hu <jiayu.hu@intel.com> Acked-by: John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com>
2018-02-14doc: add VxLAN GRO to release notesJiayu Hu
Signed-off-by: Jiayu Hu <jiayu.hu@intel.com> Acked-by: John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com>
2018-02-13doc: add note for shared library in NICs guideVipin Varghese
Add note information to intimate about use of option '-d' for shared library in DPDK application. Signed-off-by: Vipin Varghese <vipin.varghese@intel.com> Acked-by: John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com>
2018-02-13examples/cmdline: convert to SPDX license tagLee Daly
This updates the license on files in examples to be the standard BSD-3-Clause license used for the rest of DPDK, bringing the files in compliance with the DPDK licensing policy. Signed-off-by: Lee Daly <lee.daly@intel.com> Acked-by: Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com> Acked-by: Olivier Matz <olivier.matz@6wind.com>
2018-02-13examples/ip_pipeline: convert dual-license to SDPXLee Daly
This updates the Intel and Oliver Matz licenses on a file in examples to be the standard BSD-3-Clause license used for the rest of DPDK, bringing the files in compliance with the DPDK licensing policy. Signed-off-by: Lee Daly <lee.daly@intel.com> Acked-by: Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com> Acked-by: Olivier Matz <olivier.matz@6wind.com>
2018-02-13examples/performance-thread: update lthread licenseLee Daly
This updates Hasan Alayli's license to be the standard BSD-3-Clause license used for the rest of DPDK, bringing the files in compliance with the DPDK licensing policy. Signed-off-by: Lee Daly <lee.daly@intel.com> Acked-by: Hemant Agrawal <hemant.agrawal@nxp.com> Acked-by: Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com>
2018-02-13examples/ipsec-secgw: fix printed crypto nameRadu Nicolau
When AES-256 was used aes-128 was printed in the console Fixes: fa9088849e12 ("examples/ipsec-secgw: support AES 256") Signed-off-by: Radu Nicolau <radu.nicolau@intel.com> Acked-by: Anoob Joseph <anoob.joseph@caviumnetworks.com>
2018-02-13examples/exception_path: align stats on cache lineDustin Lundquist
Align stats structure to cache line to prevent bouncing per CPU stats structure between cache lines. Fixes: af75078fece3 ("first public release") Cc: stable@dpdk.org Signed-off-by: Dustin Lundquist <dustin@null-ptr.net> Acked-by: Remy Horton <remy.horton@intel.com>
2018-02-13net/failsafe: fix FreeBSD buildThomas Monjalon
The type pthread_t is not portable because it is freely defined. On Linux, it is an unsigned long int which can be printed with %l. On FreeBSD, it is a pointer which can be printed with %p. That's why there was this error: drivers/net/failsafe/failsafe_private.h:377:53: error: format specifies type 'unsigned long' but the argument has type 'pthread_t' (aka 'struct pthread *') Fixes: 655fcd68c7d2 ("net/failsafe: fix hotplug races") Reported-by: Pablo de Lara <pablo.de.lara.guarch@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net> Tested-by: Pablo de Lara <pablo.de.lara.guarch@intel.com> Acked-by: Matan Azrad <matan@mellanox.com>