summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/doc
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorHonnappa Nagarahalli <honnappa.nagarahalli@arm.com>2019-04-30 22:54:16 -0500
committerThomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>2019-05-02 01:32:41 +0200
commit64994b56cfd7e4e04499009653ccbc663d3ef175 (patch)
treee09ac8c787b50e79e8fefbc1250f4261d5f55855 /doc
parentbdc2f5cf71ea21b431484221d9ad13b4c2b5a4a8 (diff)
downloaddpdk-draft-windows-64994b56cfd7e4e04499009653ccbc663d3ef175.zip
dpdk-draft-windows-64994b56cfd7e4e04499009653ccbc663d3ef175.tar.gz
dpdk-draft-windows-64994b56cfd7e4e04499009653ccbc663d3ef175.tar.xz
rcu: add RCU library supporting QSBR mechanism
Add RCU library supporting quiescent state based memory reclamation method. This library helps identify the quiescent state of the reader threads so that the writers can free the memory associated with the lock less data structures. Signed-off-by: Honnappa Nagarahalli <honnappa.nagarahalli@arm.com> Reviewed-by: Steve Capper <steve.capper@arm.com> Reviewed-by: Gavin Hu <gavin.hu@arm.com> Reviewed-by: Ola Liljedahl <ola.liljedahl@arm.com> Acked-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.ibm.com> Acked-by: Konstantin Ananyev <konstantin.ananyev@intel.com> Tested-by: Jerin Jacob <jerinj@marvell.com> Tested-by: Ruifeng Wang <ruifeng.wang@arm.com> Tested-by: Hemant Agrawal <hemant.agrawal@nxp.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'doc')
-rw-r--r--doc/api/doxy-api-index.md5
-rw-r--r--doc/api/doxy-api.conf.in1
-rw-r--r--doc/guides/rel_notes/release_19_05.rst8
3 files changed, 12 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/doc/api/doxy-api-index.md b/doc/api/doxy-api-index.md
index de1e215..715248d 100644
--- a/doc/api/doxy-api-index.md
+++ b/doc/api/doxy-api-index.md
@@ -64,8 +64,9 @@ The public API headers are grouped by topics:
- **locks**:
[atomic] (@ref rte_atomic.h),
[rwlock] (@ref rte_rwlock.h),
- [spinlock] (@ref rte_spinlock.h)
- [ticketlock] (@ref rte_ticketlock.h)
+ [spinlock] (@ref rte_spinlock.h),
+ [ticketlock] (@ref rte_ticketlock.h),
+ [RCU] (@ref rte_rcu_qsbr.h)
- **CPU arch**:
[branch prediction] (@ref rte_branch_prediction.h),
diff --git a/doc/api/doxy-api.conf.in b/doc/api/doxy-api.conf.in
index 7722fc3..b9896cb 100644
--- a/doc/api/doxy-api.conf.in
+++ b/doc/api/doxy-api.conf.in
@@ -51,6 +51,7 @@ INPUT = @TOPDIR@/doc/api/doxy-api-index.md \
@TOPDIR@/lib/librte_port \
@TOPDIR@/lib/librte_power \
@TOPDIR@/lib/librte_rawdev \
+ @TOPDIR@/lib/librte_rcu \
@TOPDIR@/lib/librte_reorder \
@TOPDIR@/lib/librte_ring \
@TOPDIR@/lib/librte_sched \
diff --git a/doc/guides/rel_notes/release_19_05.rst b/doc/guides/rel_notes/release_19_05.rst
index 9cbf634..439725c 100644
--- a/doc/guides/rel_notes/release_19_05.rst
+++ b/doc/guides/rel_notes/release_19_05.rst
@@ -68,6 +68,13 @@ New Features
Added a new lock-free stack handler, which uses the newly added stack
library.
+* **Added RCU library.**
+
+ Added RCU library supporting quiescent state based memory reclamation method.
+ This library helps identify the quiescent state of the reader threads so
+ that the writers can free the memory associated with the lock free data
+ structures.
+
* **Updated KNI module and PMD.**
Updated the KNI kernel module to set the max_mtu according to the given
@@ -336,6 +343,7 @@ The libraries prepended with a plus sign were incremented in this version.
librte_port.so.3
librte_power.so.1
librte_rawdev.so.1
+ + librte_rcu.so.1
librte_reorder.so.1
librte_ring.so.2
librte_sched.so.2