summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorOlivier Matz <olivier.matz@6wind.com>2018-01-29 10:30:27 +0100
committerThomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>2018-02-14 16:36:44 +0100
commitd555d46d0a47689f919fb55779e18512b1837587 (patch)
treefe0f625d75345e2ffb0bb8eb27f7fe8efeba60eb
parentc96caf64c26cf180ea66ff1fba31fa25348ead68 (diff)
downloaddpdk-draft-windows-d555d46d0a47689f919fb55779e18512b1837587.zip
dpdk-draft-windows-d555d46d0a47689f919fb55779e18512b1837587.tar.gz
dpdk-draft-windows-d555d46d0a47689f919fb55779e18512b1837587.tar.xz
doc: announce control mbuf removal
Link: http://dpdk.org/ml/archives/dev/2017-July/069813.html Link: http://dpdk.org/dev/patchwork/patch/32041/ Signed-off-by: Olivier Matz <olivier.matz@6wind.com> Acked-by: Jerin Jacob <jerin.jacob@caviumnetworks.com> Acked-by: Cristian Dumitrescu <cristian.dumitrescu@intel.com> Acked-by: Bruce Richardson <bruce.richardson@intel.com> Acked-by: Hemant Agrawal <hemant.agrawal@nxp.com> Acked-by: Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>
-rw-r--r--doc/guides/rel_notes/deprecation.rst13
1 files changed, 13 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/doc/guides/rel_notes/deprecation.rst b/doc/guides/rel_notes/deprecation.rst
index 7befd94..9b506bb 100644
--- a/doc/guides/rel_notes/deprecation.rst
+++ b/doc/guides/rel_notes/deprecation.rst
@@ -76,6 +76,19 @@ Deprecation Notices
customize objects population and allocate contiguous
block of objects if underlying driver supports it.
+* mbuf: The control mbuf API will be removed in v18.05. The impacted
+ functions and macros are:
+
+ - ``rte_ctrlmbuf_init()``
+ - ``rte_ctrlmbuf_alloc()``
+ - ``rte_ctrlmbuf_free()``
+ - ``rte_ctrlmbuf_data()``
+ - ``rte_ctrlmbuf_len()``
+ - ``rte_is_ctrlmbuf()``
+ - ``CTRL_MBUF_FLAG``
+
+ The packet mbuf API should be used as a replacement.
+
* ethdev: a new Tx and Rx offload API was introduced on 17.11.
In the new API, offloads are divided into per-port and per-queue offloads.
Offloads are disabled by default and enabled per application request.