summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorShahaf Shuler <shahafs@mellanox.com>2018-02-14 14:32:44 +0200
committerThomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>2018-02-14 18:27:41 +0100
commit6790f48e661d9efe40ed35c05dba311908a0416b (patch)
tree3a94473e1e569da602141f5bcd0cbf9e86fd4934
parent0ab44211c73c2d189bf45fdf8c4aad105873fc27 (diff)
downloaddpdk-draft-windows-6790f48e661d9efe40ed35c05dba311908a0416b.zip
dpdk-draft-windows-6790f48e661d9efe40ed35c05dba311908a0416b.tar.gz
dpdk-draft-windows-6790f48e661d9efe40ed35c05dba311908a0416b.tar.xz
doc: announce ethdev API change for VF representors
This is following the RFC being discussed and targets 18.05 http://dpdk.org/ml/archives/dev/2018-January/085716.html Signed-off-by: Shahaf Shuler <shahafs@mellanox.com> Acked-by: Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net> Acked-by: Declan Doherty <declan.doherty@intel.com> Acked-by: Remy Horton <remy.horton@intel.com> Acked-by: Luca Boccassi <luca.boccassi@intl.att.com> Acked-by: Alex Zelezniak <alexz@att.com> Acked-by: Jerin Jacob <jerin.jacob@caviumnetworks.com>
-rw-r--r--doc/guides/rel_notes/deprecation.rst6
1 files changed, 6 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/doc/guides/rel_notes/deprecation.rst b/doc/guides/rel_notes/deprecation.rst
index 05436b2..e931a24 100644
--- a/doc/guides/rel_notes/deprecation.rst
+++ b/doc/guides/rel_notes/deprecation.rst
@@ -128,6 +128,12 @@ Deprecation Notices
- Members ``uint16_t rx_burst``, ``uint16_t tx_burst``, ``uint16_t rx_ring``,
and ``uint16_t tx_ring`` would be added to ``struct preferred_size``.
+* ethdev: A work is being planned for 18.05 to expose VF port representors
+ as a mean to perform control and data path operation on the different VFs.
+ As VF representor is an ethdev port, new fields are needed in order to map
+ between the VF representor and the VF or the parent PF. Those new fields
+ are to be included in ``rte_eth_dev_info`` struct.
+
* i40e: The default flexible payload configuration which extracts the first 16
bytes of the payload for RSS will be deprecated starting from 18.02. If
required the previous behavior can be configured using existing flow