summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/lib/librte_meter
AgeCommit message (Collapse)Author
2018-08-06meter: remove experimental tag from profile APIKevin Traynor
As per guideline that new APIs must be experimental for at least one release, it is now possible to remove the experimental tag from: rte_meter_srtcm_profile_config() rte_meter_trtcm_profile_config() Signed-off-by: Kevin Traynor <ktraynor@redhat.com> Acked-by: Cristian Dumitrescu <cristian.dumitrescu@intel.com>
2018-05-14lib: clear experimental version tag in linker scriptsFerruh Yigit
Remove version tag from experimental block in linker version scripts (.map files). That label is not used by linker and information only. It is useful for version blocks but not useful for experimental block but confusing. Removing those labels. Signed-off-by: Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com> Acked-by: Neil Horman <nhorman@tuxdriver.com>
2018-03-28meter: fix library version in meson buildAndrew Rybchenko
Fixes: c06ddf9698e0 ("meter: add configuration profile") Signed-off-by: Andrew Rybchenko <arybchenko@solarflare.com> Acked-by: Bruce Richardson <bruce.richardson@intel.com>
2018-02-19meter: add configuration profileCristian Dumitrescu
This patch adds support for meter configuration profiles. Benefits: simplified configuration procedure, improved performance. Q1: What is the configuration profile and why does it make sense? A1: The configuration profile represents the set of configuration parameters for a given meter object, such as the rates and sizes for the token buckets. The configuration profile concept makes sense when many meter objects share the same configuration, which is the typical usage model: thousands of traffic flows are each individually metered according to just a few service levels (i.e. profiles). Q2: How is the configuration profile improving the performance? A2: The performance improvement is achieved by reducing the memory footprint of a meter object, which results in better cache utilization for the typical case when large arrays of meter objects are used. The internal data structures stored for each meter object contain: a) Constant fields: Low level translation of the configuration parameters that does not change post-configuration. This is really duplicated for all meters that use the same configuration. This is the configuration profile data that is moved away from the meter object. Current size (implementation dependent): srTCM = 32 bytes, trTCM = 32 bytes. b) Variable fields: Time stamps and running counters that change during the on-going traffic metering process. Current size (implementation dependent): srTCM = 24 bytes, trTCM = 32 bytes. Therefore, by moving the constant fields to a separate profile data structure shared by all the meters with the same configuration, the size of the meter object is reduced by ~50%. Signed-off-by: Cristian Dumitrescu <cristian.dumitrescu@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Jasvinder Singh <jasvinder.singh@intel.com>
2018-01-30build: replace license text with SPDX tagBruce Richardson
Signed-off-by: Bruce Richardson <bruce.richardson@intel.com> Reviewed-by: Luca Boccassi <bluca@debian.org>
2018-01-30lib: build with mesonBruce Richardson
Add non-EAL libraries to DPDK build. The compat lib is a special case, along with the previously-added EAL, but all other libs can be build using the same set of commands, where the individual meson.build files only need to specify their dependencies, source files, header files and ABI versions. Signed-off-by: Bruce Richardson <bruce.richardson@intel.com> Reviewed-by: Harry van Haaren <harry.van.haaren@intel.com> Acked-by: Keith Wiles <keith.wiles@intel.com> Acked-by: Luca Boccassi <luca.boccassi@gmail.com>
2018-01-04lib: use SPDX tag for Intel copyright filesBruce Richardson
Replace the BSD license header with the SPDX tag for files with only an Intel copyright on them. Signed-off-by: Bruce Richardson <bruce.richardson@intel.com>
2017-10-24mk: do not generate LDLIBS from directory dependenciesOlivier Matz
The list of libraries in LDLIBS was generated from the DEPDIRS-xyz variable. This is valid when the subdirectory name match the library name, but it's not always the case, especially for PMDs. The patches removes this feature and explicitly adds the proper libraries in LDLIBS. Some DEPDIRS-xyz variables become useless, remove them. Reported-by: Gage Eads <gage.eads@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Olivier Matz <olivier.matz@6wind.com> Reviewed-by: Gage Eads <gage.eads@intel.com>
2017-03-27mk: optimize directory dependenciesOlivier Matz
Before this patch, the management of dependencies between directories had several issues: - the generation of .depdirs, done at configuration is slow: it can take more than one minute on some slow targets (usually ~10s on a standard PC without -j). - for instance, it is possible to express a dependency like: - app/foo depends on lib/librte_foo - and lib/librte_foo depends on app/bar But this won't work because the directories are traversed with a depth-first algorithm, so we have to choose between doing 'app' before or after 'lib'. - the script depdirs-rule.sh is too complex. - we cannot use "make -d" for debug, because the output of make is used for the generation of .depdirs. This patch moves the DEPDIRS-* variables in the upper Makefile, making the dependencies much easier to calculate. A DEPDIRS variable is still used to process library dependencies in LDLIBS. After this commit, "make config" is almost immediate. Signed-off-by: Olivier Matz <olivier.matz@6wind.com> Tested-by: Robin Jarry <robin.jarry@6wind.com> Tested-by: Jerin Jacob <jerin.jacob@caviumnetworks.com>
2016-09-21meter: fix excess token bucket update in srtcmNikhil Jagtap
As per srTCM RFC 2697, we should be updating the E bucket only after the C bucket overflows. This patch fixes the current DPDK implementation, where we are updating both the buckets simultaneously at the same rate (CIR) which results in token accumulation rate of (2*CIR). Signed-off-by: Nikhil Jagtap <nikhil.jagtap@gmail.com> Acked-by: Cristian Dumitrescu <cristian.dumitrescu@intel.com>
2016-03-22mk: fix missing libm dependenciesPanu Matilainen
Commit e86a699cf6b1 missed two further libm dependencies: ceil() used by librte_meter is typically inlined so the missing dependency does not actually cause failures, and librte_pmd_nfp is not built by default so its easy to miss. This causes duplicates in LDLIBS in many configurations so its vital they are removed before passing to linker. Fixes: e86a699cf6b1 ("mk: fix shared library dependencies on libm and librt") Reported-by: Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Panu Matilainen <pmatilai@redhat.com> Tested-by: Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com>
2015-06-18doc: fix doxygen warnings in QoS APIMichal Jastrzebski
This patch fix doxygen warnings when generating documentation for qos_meter and qos_sched. Signed-off-by: Michal Jastrzebski <michalx.k.jastrzebski@intel.com> Acked-by: Cristian Dumitrescu <cristian.dumitrescu@intel.com>
2015-02-03mk: add library version extensionNeil Horman
To differentiate libraries that break ABI, we add a library version number suffix to the library, which must be incremented when a given libraries ABI is broken. This patch enforces that addition, sets the initial abi soname extension to 1 for each library and creates a symlink to the base SONAME so that the test applications will link properly. Signed-off-by: Neil Horman <nhorman@tuxdriver.com> Acked-by: Sergio Gonzalez Monroy <sergio.gonzalez.monroy@intel.com>
2015-02-03lib: provide initial versioningNeil Horman
Add linker version script files to each DPDK library to put a stake in the ground from which we can start cleaning up API's Signed-off-by: Neil Horman <nhorman@tuxdriver.com> Acked-by: Sergio Gonzalez Monroy <sergio.gonzalez.monroy@intel.com>
2014-06-11remove trailing whitespacesBruce Richardson
This commit removes trailing whitespace from lines in files. Almost all files are affected, as the BSD license copyright header had trailing whitespace on 4 lines in it [hence the number of files reporting 8 lines changed in the diffstat]. Signed-off-by: Bruce Richardson <bruce.richardson@intel.com> Acked-by: Neil Horman <nhorman@tuxdriver.com> [Thomas: remove spaces before tabs in libs] [Thomas: remove more trailing spaces in non-C files] Signed-off-by: Thomas Monjalon <thomas.monjalon@6wind.com>
2014-02-25update Intel copyright years to 2014Bruce Richardson
Signed-off-by: Bruce Richardson <bruce.richardson@intel.com>
2013-11-21meter: remove debug symbolsIntel
Signed-off-by: Intel
2013-10-09doc: whitespace changes in licensesIntel
Signed-off-by: Intel
2013-09-17meter: initial importIntel
Signed-off-by: Intel